The Future Never Waits

Hawkwind have announced a brand-new studio album. The Future Never Waits follows their critically acclaimed 2021 album Somni and 2022 double live album We Are Looking In On You. This is the band’s 35th studio album and is an outstanding addition to their varied and celebrated catalogue.

Opening track ‘The Future Never Waits’ delivers a ten minute instrumental led space-age march, before progressing into the guitar-driven follow up ‘The End’, featuring Dave Brock’s trademark vocals and chugging machine gun riffs. Innovative additions to the Hawkwind canon such as ‘Aldous Huxley’ and ‘They Are So Easily Distracted’ introduce a gradual, almost lounge-like quality, with deliberate piano, audio samples and saxophones lamenting over a futuristic backdrop and roaming guitar solos. Other tracks like ‘Rama (The Prophecy)’ and ‘I’m Learning To Live Today’ sit tightly in the Hawkwind groove, providing old and new fans alike with the intense and concentrated fusion of musical styles they’ve come to expect and celebrate.

The Future Never Waits was made by Hawkwind, who are currently Dave Brock, Richard Chadwick, Magnus Martin, Doug MacKinnon and Tim ‘Thighpaulsandra’ Lewis. It will be available from Cherry Red on both CD and double vinyl and will be released to coincide with live shows in the spring and summer, including headlining at the UK Prognosis Festival on April 23.

Meanwhile, here are Hawkwind playing ‘Levitation’ live at Hawkfest 2022.

This entry was posted on in homepage. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.